6 Budgeting Apps Compared for 2026: Prices, Features, Pros and Cons

Budgeting apps can make it easier to organize transactions, set spending limits, or share a household view of money. They are not interchangeable: some emphasize assigning each available dollar a job, others use digital envelopes, and others focus on automatically importing account activity.

This is a U.S.-scope, desk-research comparison, not a hands-on test, security audit, or personalized recommendation. We reviewed public provider pages and current U.S. app-store listings on September 8, 2026. Before subscribing or linking an account, verify the price shown at checkout, renewal terms, your bank’s compatibility, and the provider’s current privacy information.

Relationship disclosure: As of September 8, 2026, Money Basics Hub and its contributors receive no compensation, sponsorship, gifts, or free access from the products listed in this article.

How this comparison was made

Candidate pool and inclusion rules

The candidate pool is limited to the six apps already covered by this page: Monarch Money, YNAB, Quicken Simplifi, PocketGuard, Goodbudget, and Honeydue. Each was retained only if, on the research date, it had public product information and a current U.S. sign-up path or U.S. app-store listing, and it offered a budgeting or household-money-management feature relevant to this page.

We did not run an exhaustive market scan, score a broader eligible pool, open paid accounts, connect financial institutions, test support, or measure outcomes. That means this article does not identify a market-wide “best” app and does not rank these products. Mint is excluded because Intuit has closed it; Intuit directs visitors to Credit Karma for selected Mint-like features, which should not be read as a feature-for-feature replacement. No other products were assessed for inclusion or exclusion in this refresh.

What we checked—and what we did not

We compared provider-published plan terms, described features, stated geographic or bank-linking limits, and provider-reported privacy/security information. We gave no score, weight, or category winner. Provider pages are the primary source for product facts, but they are not independent proof that an app is superior, safe for every use, or compatible with every financial institution.

We did not independently test account connections, authentication, encryption, privacy controls, advertising practices, customer support, accessibility, or the accuracy of any provider statement. “Provider-reported” below means the statement comes from the company or its platform listing—not from a Money Basics Hub audit. Connection methods can vary by bank and may change without notice.

At-a-glance plan terms

All dollar figures below are USD and were displayed by the provider on September 8, 2026. Taxes may apply where the provider says so. “Trial,” “free tier,” and “money-back guarantee” are different offers: a guarantee generally requires payment first. Promotions and checkout totals can change; this table must be rechecked within seven days of release.

AppPlan or price basis checkedProvider-listed priceRenewal / billing contextFree tier, trial, or guaranteeU.S. and bank-linking notes
Monarch MoneyDirect-billed Core plan$99.99/year or $14.99/monthProvider distinguishes Core from Plus. Its FAQ says a subscription is billed at the end of the trial and auto-renews until canceled; Apple/Google billing can have different terms.7-day trial listed on provider signup flow; no permanent free plan stated.Provider states Monarch is available in the U.S. and Canada; bank availability varies by connection.
YNABAnnual or monthly subscription$109/year or $14.99/month, plus applicable taxAnnual price is billed annually; monthly price is billed monthly. The renewal terms were not established from the reviewed price page, so confirm them at the purchase channel.34-day direct trial; provider says no card is required for direct signup, while app-store terms can differ.Provider says direct import covers selected U.S., Canadian, U.K., and E.U. institutions; file import is available elsewhere.
Quicken SimplifiObserved first-year annual-billing offer for eligible new direct memberships—not a verified checkout quote$3.99/month equivalent, billed annually; page displayed $6.99/month as a crossed-out comparison priceThe reviewed offer applied to the first year for eligible new memberships ordered directly from Quicken. Direct subscriptions automatically renew at the then-current rate unless canceled; the crossed-out comparison figure is not a guaranteed renewal price. Confirm the annual checkout total, eligibility, deadline, and renewal terms before purchase. App-store/retailer terms can differ.No free trial; 30-day money-back guarantee. Direct, retailer, and app-store refund processes can differ.Provider says Simplifi can be used in the U.S. and Canada and connects U.S./Canadian financial accounts; it supports USD or CAD, one currency at a time.
PocketGuardPremium recurring and lifetime options$74.99/year; $12.99/month; or $149.99 lifetime one-time paymentThe page states the yearly and monthly payment cadence; it does not establish renewal treatment in the reviewed price source. Lifetime is not a recurring plan.7-day trial; no permanent free tier stated on the pricing page.Provider’s country-support page lists U.S., Canada, and U.K. bank accounts/cards; manual web use is described for unsupported regions.
GoodbudgetFree plan and PremiumFree; Premium $10/month or $80/yearThe source shows the payment cadence but not renewal terms; confirm them at checkout.Permanent Free plan: 10 regular + 10 additional envelopes, one account, two devices, and one year of history.Automatic bank sync is a Premium feature and the provider lists it for U.S. banks only; manual entry and file upload remain options.
HoneydueCurrent U.S. mobile-app availabilityFree to use according to provider and app listingsNo recurring subscription price was identified in sources reviewed. iOS lists optional monthly tips as in-app purchases.Not presented as a separate “free tier”; app is described as free.Provider describes support for institutions across five countries. Confirm your institution before connecting. Google Play currently labels the Android app “Contains ads.”

Reading the table

An annual plan is not automatically less expensive for every reader, and a lower listed price does not establish better value. The useful comparison is whether the app’s budgeting approach, account support, sharing features, and data practices work for you after you read the current terms. Do not treat the monthly equivalent on an annual plan as a monthly-billed option unless the provider explicitly says it is one.

U.S. availability evidence checked

“Available in the U.S.” here means there was reproducible public evidence of a U.S. product, connection, or store path on the access date—not a guarantee that every person, device, account type, bank, or plan will be accepted. The cited facts and page dates are recorded so the next editor can repeat the check.

AppReproducible U.S. evidenceSource date / access date
Monarch MoneyProvider FAQ says Monarch is currently available in the U.S. and Canada.FAQ last updated 2025-10-17; accessed 2026-09-08.
YNABProvider pricing page offers a direct 34-day trial in USD and says Direct Import supports selected U.S. institutions.Page date not stated; accessed 2026-09-08.
Quicken SimplifiProvider FAQ says Simplifi can be used in the U.S. and Canada and connects U.S./Canadian financial accounts.FAQ updated over a month before access; accessed 2026-09-08.
PocketGuardProvider country-support page lists the United States for bank accounts and cards.Help page last updated 2026-08-31; accessed 2026-09-08.
GoodbudgetProvider signup page offers Premium automatic bank sync for “US banks only” and a free plan; it also lists web, Android, and iPhone availability.Page date not stated; accessed 2026-09-08.
HoneydueProvider site renders a United States locale and its U.S. Apple App Store listing was publicly available.Provider page date not stated; U.S. store listing accessed 2026-09-08.

The U.S. status of every app—and the exact bank/institution a reader intends to connect—must be rechecked before release.

Product approaches and limits

Monarch Money: broad household dashboard features

Monarch’s public product materials describe budgeting, goals, reports, account aggregation, investments, subscription tracking, and household or professional collaboration. Its direct-billed Core plan is the price basis in this article; that is not the same as saying every Monarch tier has that price or feature set. It may be relevant to a household that wants several financial views in one dashboard, but readers should compare its current tiers and verify which accounts will connect before paying.

YNAB: structured, zero-based budgeting

YNAB describes a zero-based method: assigning the money currently available to spending and saving priorities. Its subscription includes account import, targets, loan/debt tools, and sharing for a group of up to six people. That structure may suit people who want to update a plan regularly; it can be a poor fit for someone seeking only passive spending tracking. The provider’s stated direct-import coverage is not a promise that a particular bank or account type will work.

Quicken Simplifi: spending plans and cash-flow views

Quicken describes Simplifi’s Spending Plan, savings goals, reports, investment tracking, and cash-flow projections. The observed headline price was a first-year monthly equivalent billed annually for eligible new memberships ordered directly from Quicken, not a standard month-to-month subscription. Direct subscriptions automatically renew at the then-current rate unless canceled. Confirm the annual checkout total, eligibility, offer deadline, renewal price, and bank support before buying. Simplifi is described by its provider as designed for U.S. and Canadian financial accounts, with a one-currency-at-a-time limitation.

PocketGuard: leftover-style or custom budgets

PocketGuard describes both leftover-style and custom budgeting, as well as bills, subscriptions, goals, debt payoff planning, and transaction rules. Its pricing page currently lists monthly, annual, and one-time lifetime options, so a comparison that shows only recurring prices is incomplete. The provider lists bank/card support for the U.S., Canada, and U.K.; people outside those markets can manually add accounts and transactions through its web app.

Goodbudget: digital envelopes with a permanent free plan

Goodbudget adapts the envelope method to web and mobile use. Its Free plan has stated limits, while Premium adds automatic U.S.-bank sync, more accounts and envelopes, more device access, and a longer history. This may suit readers who prefer manually planned categories, including readers who do not want to link a bank account. Automatic sync is optional, paid, and limited by the provider to U.S. banks.

Honeydue: shared household money tools for couples

Honeydue describes a free mobile app for couples with account tracking, bill reminders, transaction chat, and controls for what a partner can see. It may be relevant for a couple wanting shared visibility, but the product materials should not be read as a conclusion that it is suitable for every household or privacy preference. Its commercial presentation differs by platform: the U.S. iOS listing includes optional monthly tips and advertising, while Google Play labels the Android listing “Contains ads.” Check the relevant store listing and the provider’s policy before connecting accounts.

Privacy and security information to compare before linking accounts

The matrix below reports what the providers or platform listings say. It is not an independent security assessment, and blanks mean the stated item was not established from the named source during this desk review—not that the feature is absent. A bank may use an OAuth-style authorization screen, credentials, or another flow depending on the institution. Use a unique budgeting-app password and do not reuse any bank or app password elsewhere. Turn on available account protections, review the permissions screen, and consider manual entry or a spreadsheet if you do not want to authorize a budgeting service or its data provider to access financial-account data.

AppConnection and credential statementProvider-reported access/security controlsAdvertising / data-use statementDeletion or control statementSource status and limits
Monarch MoneyPrivacy policy names Plaid, Finicity, MX, and Spinwheel and says Monarch does not receive financial-account login information.Security page says connections are read-only; it reports MFA, OTPs for unrecognized devices, and encryption in transit and at rest.Security page says it is ad-free; privacy policy describes marketing/analytics vendors.Account deletion is permanent for access, but the privacy policy says it does not erase every copy immediately; users can request personal-data deletion.Provider-reported; no Money Basics Hub audit. Privacy policy effective 2026-08-10; security-page date not stated; both accessed 2026-09-08.
YNABSecurity page says connections are read-only and handled by Plaid and MX; it says YNAB does not store bank credentials.Provider reports encryption in transit and at rest plus controlled access and testing.Provider says it does not sell financial data, but says targeted advertising to reach new users may be treated as a sale/share under some state laws and offers an opt-out.Provider says a user-requested account deletion irreversibly removes financial data from its database; its policy explains retention details.Provider-reported; security page dated August 24, 2026. No independent audit was performed by this publication.
Quicken SimplifiHelp article says an unnamed aggregation partner logs in to the bank for nightly updates; credentials are encrypted and stored by that partner.Provider calls the connection one-way, so it cannot change transactions or balances; it reports 256-bit encryption in transmission.No provider advertising/data-sale conclusion is made here because it was not established from the sources reviewed.Provider says cancellation turns off auto-renewal, but data remains for a period; users must delete bank accounts if they do not want that financial data stored.Provider-reported; connection article dated April 23, 2026. This distinction is material for readers who do not want credentials retained by an aggregator.
PocketGuardSecurity page names Finicity, Plaid, Salt Edge, and Apple Wallet as data connectors. It says PocketGuard does not store credit/debit-card account credentials; that statement does not establish handling of every possible bank-login or OAuth flow.Provider reports PIN/biometric protection and MFA for secured bank connections; it says linked access is read-only.Pricing page says “No ads” and “We don’t sell data.” Its privacy policy (last updated 2025-05-12) also describes analytics tools and says it may implement third-party content or advertising; these statements need provider clarification before any stronger privacy conclusion.Security page describes in-app/web profile deletion; privacy policy provides a deletion request route at privacy@pocketguard.com and retention terms.Provider-reported; security page gives no update date and was accessed 2026-09-08. Do not infer a security grade or resolve the policy/marketing-page tension without provider clarification.
GoodbudgetPremium bank sync uses Plaid; provider says linking is optional and users enter bank credentials through the bank/Plaid authentication process. The reviewed source does not say whether Goodbudget itself stores credentials.Provider says Plaid uses recognized security standards and says Goodbudget uses 256-bit SSL; no Goodbudget-app MFA claim was established in the reviewed source.Provider says it does not sell or rent information to third parties.Provider says users can ask for personally identifiable information to be deleted.Provider-reported; automatic-sync source last updated 2023-09-22 and accessed 2026-09-08. Bank compatibility can differ from Plaid’s general institution list.
HoneydueSecurity page says Plaid stores bank usernames/passwords in a separate database; provider says those credentials enable automatic downloads.Provider reports 256-bit encryption in transit and storage and requires MFA.U.S. iOS listing says it contains advertising and optional monthly tips; Google Play labels it “Contains ads.” Apple and Google describe store disclosures as developer-provided and subject to change.Google Play’s data-safety section says users can request deletion; the provider’s current deletion process was not independently verified.Provider-reported plus current store disclosures. Security page has no visible update date; the linked Honeydue privacy policy is dated 2020-03-20. All were accessed 2026-09-08 and need recheck before release.

No online financial service is risk-free. Use a unique budgeting-app password, and do not reuse any bank or app password elsewhere. Be cautious about credentials or permissions you do not understand. If a connection fails, do not assume the app or bank is at fault; use the provider’s support and your bank’s official guidance.

How to narrow the choice without a “winner” label

Start with the problem you want the tool to solve.

  1. Choose the budgeting approach. YNAB describes a structured zero-based method; Goodbudget uses envelopes; PocketGuard describes leftover-style and custom budgets; Simplifi and Monarch describe broader planning and account views.
  2. Check the exact account connection. An app’s national availability does not guarantee that your bank, card, loan, investment, or joint account will link correctly.
  3. Separate price from billing. Compare recurring annual, recurring monthly, trial, refund, and lifetime terms as different offers. Do not assume today’s promotion will be your renewal price.
  4. Review sharing and visibility settings. A partner-sharing feature may expose more than you expect. Read the provider’s controls before inviting anyone.
  5. Decide whether automatic sync is worth the data exchange. Manual entry, file import, or a spreadsheet can be reasonable if you want more control over financial-account access.
  6. Try the actual workflow. Where a trial or free plan is available, build one ordinary month of categories, bills, and goals before committing. A trial is not a guarantee of bank compatibility or a promise of results.

This article is educational information, not individualized financial, legal, tax, or security advice.

Frequently asked questions

Is there one best budgeting app for beginners?

Not from this research alone. The six products use different approaches, and this page does not include hands-on testing or a scored market-wide pool. A beginner may find a manual envelope plan clearer, while another may prefer an automated account view. Start with the approach and data-sharing trade-offs you are comfortable maintaining.

Which listed apps have a permanent free option?

Goodbudget publishes a permanent Free plan with stated limits. Honeydue describes its mobile app as free, but its U.S. iOS listing includes optional monthly tips and advertising, and Google Play currently labels the Android app as containing ads. The other listed products are described here with a trial or a money-back guarantee, not a permanent free tier.

Are budgeting apps safe to connect to a bank?

No connection is risk-free. Providers describe different methods for account aggregation, credential handling, authentication, advertising, and deletion. Read the specific provider and bank information, enable available account protections, and consider manual entry if you do not want to connect an account. Money Basics Hub did not perform an independent security assessment of the apps in this article.

Is a budgeting app better than a spreadsheet?

Neither is universally better. Apps can reduce manual transaction entry when a connection works; a spreadsheet can offer more direct control and avoid authorizing a budgeting service or its data provider to access financial-account data. The practical choice is the one whose method and privacy trade-offs you can use consistently.


Corrections: Report a possible factual error through Money Basics Hub’s Contact page.

Leave a Comment